Charlotte Dujardin & Freestyle Make Winning International Debut in Zeeland Outdoor CDI3* Grand Prix

4 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Charlotte Dujardin & Freestyle Make Winning International Debut in Zeeland Outdoor CDI3* Grand Prix
Charlotte Dujardin and Mount St. John Freestyle. © 2017 1st Class Images

NIEUW en ST. JOOSLAND, Netherlands, April 5, 2018–Olympic gold medal rider Charlotte Dujardin and Mount St. John Freestyle made a winning international debut in capturing the CDI3* Grand Prix at the Zeeland Outdoor Thursday.

Charlotte and Freestyle, billed as the successor to Valegro and a top prospect for Great Britain’s team at the World Equestrian Games in September, were awarded 75.152 per cent for the win.

Four of the five judges placed Charlotte and the nine-year-old Hanoverian mare ine-year-old mare (Fidermark x Donnerhall) first while Katrina Wüst of Germany and the judge at C had the pair third though awarding the duo the only mark of 10, for the final centerline passage.

Sweden’s 2016 Olympic team partnership of Juliette Ramel on Buriel K.H. placed second on 74.087 per cent.

The Netherlands’ Hans Peter Minderhoud on Glock’s Dream Boy, also making their international Big Tour debut, were third on 73.870 per cent.

Charlotte, 32 years old, and Freestyle, owned by Emma Blundell of her Mount St. John stud, swept the British national small tour championships last year and the Horse of the Year Show Future Elite Championship in October. At a recent national Grand Prix, the pair were scored at close to 80 per cent.

Charlotte has competed Hawtin’s Delicato at international small tour but the 10-year-old British Hanoverian gelding is likely to be competed by Carl Hester as a British team prospect. He is an owner with

Charlotte’s debut on Valegro in France in March 2011 was also a victory on a score of 73.723 per cent and the pair went on to win three Olympic gold medals, become No. 1 in the world and still hold all three Big Tour world record scores.


CDI3* Grand Prix

Judges-E: Clive Halsall-GBR H: Magnus Ringmark-SWE C: Katrina Wuest-GER M: Eduard de Wolf van Westerrode-NED B: Peter Holler-GER