Steffen Peters With Rosamunde Confirmed for World Cup Start

5 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Steffen Peters With Rosamunde Confirmed for World Cup Start
Steffen Peters riding Rosamunde in Florida. © 2017 Ken Braddick/

Mar. 16, 2017


Steffen Peters on Rosamunde was confirmed Thursday for the World Cup Final in Omaha in two weeks, joining America’s Olympic bronze medal team mates Laura Graves and Kasey Perry-Glass in the starting lineup of the championship.

Steffen, the 2009 champion on Ravel, was named to fill an extra starting place based on a world ranking of No. 23 on Rosamunde, a 10-year-old Rhinelander mare.

Steffen, 52 years old, will be the oldest rider in the Final for Mar. 27-April 2 and the first time staged in the American heartland city.

Based in San Diego, California, Steffen last competed in the World Cup in Las Vegas in 2015, on Legolas the horse he competed for the United States at the 2016 Olympics, the 2014 World Games in Normandy and as team and individual gold medalists at the 2015 Pan American Games.

The selection of Steffen completes the lineup of 18 riders for the Final, the 32nd year of the annual championship based on the Grand Prix Freestyle.

The lineup of participants with their expected horses for the Mar. 27-April 2 championship is:

Title defender
Hans Peter Minderhoud,  43 years old, of the Netherlands and Glock’s Flirt, 16-year-old Swiss Warmblood gelding. World ranking: 11

Western European League
1. Isabell Werth, 47 years old, of Germany and Weihegold OLD, 12-year-old Oldenburg mare. WR: 1
2. Jessica von Bredow-Werndl, 31 years old, of Germany and Unee BB, 16-year-old KWPN stallion. WR: 16
3. Judy Reynolds, 35 years old, of Ireland and Vancouver K, 15-year-old KWPN gelding. WR: 19
4. Kristy Oatley, 38 years old, of Australia and Du Soleil, 13-year-old Hanoverian gelding. WR: 48
5. Carl Hester, 49 years old, of Great Britain and Nip Tuck, 13-year-old KWPN gelding. WR: 5
6. Marcela Krinke Susmelj, 51 years old, of Switzerland and Smeyers Molberg, 16-year-old Danish Warmblood gelding. WR: 33
7. Madeleine Witte-Vrees, 44 years old, of the Netherlands and Cennin, 10-year-old KWPN gelding. WR: 28
8. Edward Gal, 47 years old, of the Netherlands and Glock’s Voice, 15-year-old KWPN stallion. WR: 97
9. Mai Tofte Olesen, 49 years old, of Denmark and Rustique, 15-year-old Danish Warmblood gelding. WR: 78

Central European League
1. Inessa Merkulova, 52 years old, of Russia and Mister X, 13-year-old Trakehner gelding. WR: 8
2. Hanna Karasiova, 33 years old, of Belarus and Arlekino, 11-year-old Latvian Warmblood gelding. WR: 68

North American League
1. Laura Graves, 29 years old, of the United States and Verdades, 15-year-old KWPN gelding. WR: 4
2. Kasey Perry-Glass, 29 years old, of the United States and Dublet, 14-year-old Danish Warmblood gelding. WR: 17

Pacific League
1. Wendi Williamson, 45 years old, of New Zealand and Dejavu MH, 12-year-old Hanoverian gelding. WR: 162

Maria Florencia Manfredi, 34 years old, of Argentina and Bandurria Kacero, 11-year-old Argentine gelding. WR: 173

Extra starting places
1. João Victor  Oliva, 21 years old,  of Brazil and Xama dos Pinhais, 14-year-old Lusitano stallion. WR: 153
2. Steffen Peters, 52 years old, of the United States and Rosamunde, 10-year-old Rhinelander mare, ranked No. 23 in the world.

Both the United States and the Netherlands have three combinations, the most of any country.

Ten of the combinations competed at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro last summer.

Former World Cup champions include Isabell Werth (Fabienne 1992, Warum Nicht FRH 2007), Steffen Peters (Ravel 2009), Edward Gal (Totilas 2010) as well as Hans Peter (Glock’s Flirt defending the title won in 2016).

Youngest rider is Brazil’s João Victor Marcari Oliva at 21 who was not born when Isabell Werth won the title for the first time in 1992 at the age of 22.

Since the first World Cup Final in 1986, the Netherlands have won 13 times, nine by Anky van Grunsven (five on Bonfire, four on Salinero); Germany eight times; Great Britain (Charlotte Dujardin/Valegro 2014-15), Switzerland (Christine Stückelberger/Gaugin de Lully 1987-88) and the United States (Debbie McDonald/Brentina 2003, Steffen Peters/Ravel 2009) twice each. Denmark, France, Finland and Sweden have each won the title once.

Wendi Williamson on Dejavu MH will be the first pair from New Zealand ever to compete at a World Cup Final.