Int’l Dressage Riders Club, FEI Settle Dispute–Kyra Kyrklund Appointed to FEI Dressage Committee

9 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Int’l Dressage Riders Club, FEI Settle Dispute–Kyra Kyrklund Appointed to FEI Dressage Committee
Kyra Kyrklund © Ken Braddick/
The International Equestrian Federation and the International Dressage Riders Club have settled their dispute over representation on the FEI Dressage Committee and Kyra Kyrklund will be appointed immediately as the interim athlete representative to the committee.
The FEI announced Monday that as a result of the settlement it is dropping moves to suspend the IDRC.
The IDRC and the FEI said in a joint statement:
  • The IDRC will allow two athletes previously removed from membership, Luis Lucio Perez of Spain and Maria Ines Garcia Cuellar Colombia to be members of the IDRC again without any restrictions;
  • The IDRC and the FEI Legal Department will cooperate in drafting proposed changes to the IDRC statutes that will be presented for adoption at the next IDRC General Assembly;
  • IDRC President, Kyra Kyrklund, will be immediately appointed by the FEI Bureau as the Athletes’ Representative to the FEI Dressage Committee on an interim basis, until a permanent appointment is made.
“It was important for the sport, particularly in an Olympic year, that this matter was resolved in an amicable way and we are very happy that this agreement is substantially in line with the proposals we made to the IDRC some months ago,” FEI Secretary General Ingmar De Vos said. “We look forward to working closely with the IDRC and welcome the Club’s President Kyra Kyrklund in her new role as Athletes’ Representative on the Dressage Committee.”
“The Club’s goal has always been the riders’ right of representation on the Dressage Committee and we are delighted that we have reached agreement with the FEI so that the athletes’ voices can be heard before the Olympic Games this summer” Kyra said
Kyra, who is Finnish but based in England,  will join the committee of which Frank Kemperman of The Netherlands is chairman and members are Anne Gribbons of the United States, David Hunt of Great Britain, Elisabet Lundholm of Sweden and Thomas Baur of Germany.