Adelinde Cornelissen & Jerich Parzival Claim Mechelen World Cup Grand Prix

10 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Adelinde Cornelissen & Jerich Parzival Claim Mechelen World Cup Grand Prix
Adelinde Cornelissen and Jerich Parzival. © 2011 Ken Braddick/

MECHELEN, Belgium, Dec. 27–Adelinde Cornelissen and Jerich Parzival made their obligatory start as defending World Cup champions to win the Jumping Mechelen qualifying Grand Prix Tuesday in the first performance for the Dutch pair since capturing both individual gold medals at the European Championships four months ago.

Adelinde, the International Equestrian Federation Athlete of the Year, and the KWPN gelding (Jazz x Fidora x Ulft) who will be 15 years old in 2012, scored 78.851 per cent at the final international dressage competition of the year.

Sweden’s Patrik Kittel and Watermill Scandic H.B.C., also making their first competition appearance since they won bronze in the Freestyle at the Europeans in August, were second on 75.489 per cent with Germany’s Nadine Capellmann and Elvis VA, her 2008 Olympic team gold medal mount, third on 72.936 per cent.

Patrik leads the Western European League standings after five of nine competitions heading to the Final in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands, April 18-22.

Australia’s Hayley Beresford rode Belissimo NRW in their first international Grand Prix to finish 12th on 66.638 per cent and provide the pair with a minimum qualifying score as required to be considered for the Olympics in London next year for which Australia will field a team.

The Freestyle for which points are awarded for the standings is scheduled for Wednesday.

1. Adelinde  Cornelissen NED Jerich Parzival – 78.851%
2. Patrik Kittel SWE Watermill Scandic H.B.C. – 75.489%
3. Nasdine Capellmann GER Elvis VA – 72.936%
4. Hans Peter Minderhoud NED Withney van het Genthof – 71.957%
5. Helen Lagehanenberg GER Responsible OLD – 71.936%
6. Patrick Van der Meer NED Uzzo – 71.574%
7. Claudia Fassaert BEL Donnerfee – 69.915%
8. Jeroen Devroe BEL Apollo van het Vijvershof – 69.787%
9. Vicky  Smits-Vanderhasselt BEL Daianira Van De Helle – 68.745%
10. Philippe  Jorissen BEL Le Beau – 67.809%
11. Julie De Deken BEL Fazzino – 67.723%
12. Hayley Beresford AUS Belissimo NRW – 66.638%
13. Inna Logutenkova UKR Viane Stallone – 66.468%
14. Johan Zagers BEL Question de Liberté – 64.894%
15. Simon Missiaen BEL Vradin 63.362%