Australian & New Zealand Dressage Teams Announced for Final Olympic Qualifiers

11 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Australian & New Zealand Dressage Teams Announced for Final Olympic Qualifiers
Lyndal Oatley and Potifar riding for Australia at the 2010 World Equestrian Games. © Ken Braddick/

SYDNEY, Australia, Oct. 24–The Australian and New Zealand squads that will compete over the next two weeks in the final 2012 Olympic team qualification in Sydney and Ermelo, the Netherlands, was annoounced Monday with their only competition for two places being South Africa.

Two teams from the region will be selected to join host nation Great Britain and already qualified nations of Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Germany, The Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the United States in London.

Because of quarantine restrictions, the selection will be in two phases but using the same judges–the CDI-W in Sydney on Frifday, Oct. 28 and at Ermelo, The Netherlands, on Wednesday, Nov. 2.

Australia will field two riders at each competition and the entire South African team will compete at Ermelo.

The ground jury will comprise Stephen Clarke of Great Britain who is also president of the ground jury at the Olympics, Gotthilf Riexinger of Germany, Susan Hoevenaars of Australia, (AUS) Mariëtte Sanders-van Gansewinkel of The Netherlands and (NED) Raphaël Saleh of France.

The Australian team for Sydney is Rachael Sanna and Jaybee Alabaster and Chantal Wigan and Ferero.

In Ermelo it will be Mary Hanna and Sancette and Lyndal Oatley and Potifar.

Riders who are part of a team successful in the team qualifying event are not necessarily the riders to represent Australia in London.

The New Zealand team to compete in Sydney is Shiwon Green – Gosh, Louisa Hill – Bates Antonello, Nicki Pope – Fabarchie and Vanessa Way – KH Arvan.