London Olympic Dressage, 2012 World Cup Final Judges Announced

10 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on London Olympic Dressage, 2012 World Cup Final Judges Announced

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, Sept. 23–The judges for the London Olympics and the World Cup Final next year that were selected by blind draws were announced Friday by the International Equestrian Federation.

The ground Jury for the Olympics will be Leif Törnblad of Denmark, Maribel Alonso of Mexico, Jean-Michel Roudier of France, Gary Rockwell of the U.S., Wim Ernes of The Netherlands and Evi Eisenhardt of Germany. Stephen Clarke of Great Britain as a host country judge was already appointed president of the ground jury.

The Ground Jury for the World Cup Final in ‘s-Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands, next April 18-22 April 2012 will also be seven-strong–Ghislain Fouarge of the Netherlands as president, with Stephen Clarke of Great Britain, Gary Rockwell of the U.S., Katrina Wüst of Germany, Isabelle Judet of France, Susan Hoevenaars of Australia and and Leif Törnblad of Denmark.

The 100th anniversary of equestrian sport in the Olympics will be marked in 2012 and the location at Greenwich Park places equestrians at the heart of the Games.

Horse and rider combinations from four different leagues–Western Europe, Central Europe, North America and Asia/Pacific–can qualify for the World Cup Final, the only annual championship for dressage and the climax of the European indoor season.

The Ground Jury for Paralympic Equestrian at London 2012 Paralympics has been confirmed as Lilian Iannone of Argentia, Freddy Leyman of Belgium, Anne Prain of France, Gudrun Hofinga of Germany, Sarah Rodger of Great Britain and Carlos Lopes of Portugal with Kjell Myhre of Norway as president.

How the Olympic judges were selected.

The FEI Dressage Committee proposed a long list of judges for London 2012 which the rules state can include up to 12 5* judges, a maximum of two per country and from a minimum of eight countries. Only one judge per nation and a total of seven judges but not more than one from any nation are appointed in the order in which they are drawn. The same rules appy for the World Cup.

A total of 11 5* judges from eight nations were on the long list, including Stephen Clarke who as a host country judge had already been appointed president, and the draw was held at FEI hedquarters in Lausanne.

Jacques Van Daele of Belgium will be chief steward and Wojtek Markowski of Poland will be the foreign technical delegate at London.