Cannes Confirmed For 2010 Exquis World Dressage Masters Lineup

12 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Cannes Confirmed For 2010 Exquis World Dressage Masters Lineup
Anky van Grunsven leading the victory gallop at the 2009 Exquis World Dressage Masters in Cannes. © Ken Braddick/
Anky van Grunsven leading the victory gallop at the 2009 Exquis World Dressage Masters in Cannes. © Ken Braddick/

Cannes on the French Riviera has been confirmed for the 2010 lineup of Exquis World Dressage Masters events with the €100,000 (US$136,000) competition scheduled for June 10-13.

The WDM event that began the world’s richest dressage events in Cannes two years ago will be held at the same time as the Global Champions Tour CSI5*. The Cannes WDM competition had been in doubt because of conflicts with dates of other major dressage shows.

The glamorous Cannes competition, which was won in the inaugural year of 2008 and in 2009 by Anky van Grunsven of The Netherlands, is one of the four CDI5* competitions sponsored by Exquis, Moorlands Stables and Moorlands Investments, Nürnberger Versicherungsgruppe and Jerich International.

It will also kick off the second year of the Nürnberger WDM Rider Rankings offering a bonus of €25,000 (US$34,000).
Complete information on the Exquis World Dressage Masters is available on the updated Internet site,

“We are thrilled to be returning to Cannes which is one of the founding events along with Palm Beach in Florida; Munich, Germany and Hickstead, England,” said Anthony M. Kies, Chef Executive Officer of Exquis World Dressage Masters.

“Since the first competition at Cannes in June, 2008, the World Dressage Masters has established itself as a premier series attracting the world’s top riders and worldwide popular support. Cannes is a wonderful blend of glamor that is unique to the French Riviera and excitement of top horse sport.”

François Bourey of SEPA that organizes the Cannes event said he is delighted the Exquis World Dressage Masters will return for a third year of top competition. “The magnificent performances capped by the musical freestyle on Saturday night makes this a truly magical event and a highlight of the season on the French Riviera,” he said.

The 2010 WDM series began in Palm Beach on Feb. 4-6 where Anky van Grunsven on her Olympic mount Salinero posted her second freestyle victory, beating Steffen Peters and Ravel of the United States and Isabell Werth and Satchmo of Germany. The USA’s Leslie Morse and Tip Top won the Grand Prix Special.

The schedule for the remainder of 2010 is:

* May 13-16 in Munich, Germany;

* June 10-13 in Cannes, France, and

* July 29-Aug. 1 in Hickstead, England.

WDM at the Olympic Stadium in Munich will mark the final of the inaugural year of the Nürnberger Versicherungsgruppe Rider Rankings and its award of €25,000 (US$36,000). For the final at Munich, riders can earn double points. Points awarded are based on the regular World Ranking points of the FEI multiplied by a factor of 1.5.

Standings after Palm Beach are:

Rk  Name                                 Nation  Events Points
1.   Anky van Grunsven                 NED       2       1530
2.   Ashley Holzer                           CAN        2       1380
3.   Edward Gal                               NED       1       1020
4.   Leslie Morse                              USA        2         990
5.   Marc Boblet                                FRA       2         945
6.   Anja Plönzke                               GER      2         932
7.   Adelinde Cornelissen                 NED      1         870
8T Catherine Haddad                     USA       2         855*
8T Daniel Pinto                                  POR      2         855*
8T Laura Bechtolsheimer               GBR       1         855*
11. Imke Schellekens-Bartels           NED      1        780
12. Steffen Peters                                USA      1        765
13. Isabell Werth                                GER      1        660
14T Hans-Peter Minderhoud           NED      1        615*
14T Kyra Kyrklund                             FIN       1        615*
16. Nathalie zu Sayn Wittgenstein DEN      1        585
17. Fiona Bigwood                              GBR      1        570
18. Jordi Domingo                              ESP      1       558
19. Jeroen Devroe                               BEL      1        540
20. Anders Dahl                                  DEN      1        510
21T Maria Eilberg                               GBR      1        495*
21T Christa Laarakkers                     NED      1        495*
23. Michal Rapcewicz                        POL      1         470
24. Mikala Munter Gundersen       DEN      1         465
25. Stefan van Ingelgem                   BEL      1         450
26. Judy Harvey                                GBR     1         435*
26T Tina Konyot                                USA     1          435*
28. Pierre Saint Jacques                  USA     1          420*
28T Belinda Trussel                          CAN     1          420*
28T Anne van Uytert                        NED     1          420*
31. Evi Strasser                                  CAN     1          405*
31T Elisabeth Austin                         USA    1          405*
31T Sarah Jane Elmslie                    GBR     1           405*
34. Jane Gregory                              GBR     1           390
35T Constance Menard                     ISR     1           375*
35T Dane Rawlins                            GBR     1           375*
35T Michael Barisone                      USA     1           375*
38T Marc Peter Spahn                     BEL     1           360*
38T Remy Issartel                            FRA     1           360*
38T Aat van Essen                           NED     1           360*
41T Ulla Salzgeber                           GER      1           285
41T Diane Creech                              CAN     1           285

* (in case of ex aequo situations the best individual result in the GP is decisive)
Note: WDM rider ranking is stated without warranty
Photo: Anky van Grunsven winning the 2009 Exquis World Dressage Masters Cannes for the second straight year. © Ken Braddick/