Courtney King Dye Awarded $25,000 “Carol Lavell Advanced Dressage Prize”

12 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Courtney King Dye Awarded $25,000 “Carol Lavell Advanced Dressage Prize”
Courtney King Dye. © Ken Braddick/
Courtney King Dye. © Ken Braddick/

LINCOLN, Nebraska, Feb. 9–Courtney King Dye has won the 2010 Carol Lavell Advanced Dressage Prize of $25,000 (€18,300), The Dressage Foundation announced Tuesday.

The award to Courtney of New Milford, Connecticut, is to provide financial assistance for coaching and training to a talented, committed, qualified rider whose plan is to reach and excel at the elite, international standards of high performance dressage.
Courtney said she plans to use the funds to take two horses, Hampton Green Farm’s Grandioso and Maryanna Haymon’s Don Principe, to Europe for training.

The $25,000 Prize will be awarded to Courtney at the Palm Beach Dressage Derby on Mar. 7. Carol Lavell, founder of the Prize Fund will make the presentation. The prize was established in memory of Carol’s mother, May Cadwgan, and in honor of her father, Gordon Cadwgan.

“I established this Fund at The Dressage Foundation as my way of ‘giving back’ to the sport that has been so good to me,” Carol said. “I know that, for most riders, obtaining financial support becomes the ultimate hurdle. I’m so grateful to my family and loyal friends whose charitable gifts have helped me establish this Fund, and in a dollar amount that will be able to award this $25,000 Annual Prize for many years into the future.”

“I am amazed that Carol Lavell came up with this idea of the Advanced Dressage Prize and that, together with The Dressage Foundation and a whole lot of work and team effort, made it a reality,” Courtney said.

“We are incredibly lucky as a community of dressage riders to have access to such help, thanks to their efforts, and I could not be more honored to be chosen as a recipient. The prize is going to help tremendously in my training endeavors. I am so thankful to Carol Lavell, The Dressage Foundation, and everyone who made this Prize possible.”