Nominated Dressage Entries for Alltech FEI European Championships

13 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on Nominated Dressage Entries for Alltech FEI European Championships
Super couple Moorlands Totilas and Edward Gal during Sunday's Grand Prix Freestyle. © 2009 Ken Braddick/
Super couple Moorlands Totilas and Edward Gal creating world record score in Hickstead Grand Prix Freestyle. © 2009 Ken Braddick/

WINDSOR, England, Aug. 5–Nominated entries from 20 nations, including 13 teams, for the Alltech FEI European Dressage Championships to be held Aug. 25-30 at Windsor Castle were announced by the organizers Wednesday.

The dressage championships are being held at the same time in the same location with the jumping championships for the first time.

The Netherlands, who claimed their first ever victory over Germany in 2007, are favorites for the team title with Moorlands Totilas and Edward Gal as the top prospects for the individual medal. Totilas and Gal created a new world freestyle record score at Hickstead, England, last month.

Three-time individual Olympic and European champion Anky Van Grunsven (Salinero or Painted Black), Olympia World Cup winner Adelinde Cornelissen (Parzival) and former European team member Imke Schellens Bartels (Hunter Douglas Sunrise) are among the riders named for The Netherlands aiming to keep the European title they won in 2007 after 42 years of dominance by Germany.

Germany has yet to name its final team, which will be without Isabell Werth for the first time in 16 years. The Germans, however, have depth, including: Heike Kemmer (Bonaparte), Hubertus Schmidt (Donelly 3) Nadine Capellmann (Elvis VA) and Monica Theodorescu (Whisper 128).

Great Britain is given its best ever chance of improving on the bronze medals they won at Hickstead in 2001 and Lipica in 1993 with a team of experienced riders and horses as well as home field advantage. Laura Bechtolsheimer (Mistral Hojris or Andretti H), Emma Hindle (Lancet), who have both scored highly in international competition this year, Carl Hester (Leibling) and Maria Eilberg (Two Sox) have been selected for the team with Fiona Bigwood (Wie Atlantico) as reserve.

The Danes, too, will field a strong team. Nathalie zu Sayn-Wittgenstein (Digby, Rigoletto), Andreas Helgstrand (Tannenhof’s Carabas), Anne van Olst (Exquis Clearwater) and Sune Hansen (Gredstedgårds Casmir).

About 50,000 spectators are expected to attend the championships.

Among the highlights will be an Eventing Grand Prix during a Friday night gala which will be attended by Muhammad Ali and other luminaries.

Pippa Funnell became the latest to will join Zara Phillips, Mary King, Tina Cook, Lucy Wiegersma, Elizabeth Power, Clayton and Lucinda Fredericks, Gary Parsonage, Laura Collett and Emily Llewellyn in the first Eventing competition to be held at the Windsor Showground.

The 11 Eventers will complete a show jumping round and an arena-based cross country course in the competition which features as part of the Alltech World Equestrian Games Gala Night.

Friday night’s program includes displays and competitions in carriage driving, para-equestrian dressage to music, reining; endurance and vaulting. The H&M Puissance will round off the evening.

The nominated dressage entries:


BACHINGER, Eva Maria (Palazzo)

ERDMANN, Nikolaus (Danny Wilde)

GMOSER, Peter (Cointreau)

MAX-THEURER, Victoria (Augustin OLD, Falcao OLD)

MAYR, Hannes (Ellis)

SCHUMACH, Christian (Da Vinci)


DEVROE, Jeroen (Apollo van het Vijverhof)

VAN INGELGEM, Stefan (Withney van t Genthof)

VERWIMP, Wim (Maxwil v)

LIS, Iryna (Redford 2)

DAHL, Anders (Bukowski)

GUNDERSEN, Mikala Münter (Leonberg)

HANSEN, Sune (Gredstedgårds Casmir)

HELGSTRAND, Andreas (Tannenhof’s Carabas)

OLST, Anne van (Exquis Clearwater)

SAYN-WITTGENSTEIN, Nathalie zu (Digby, Rigoletto)


CASTILLA RUIZ, Claudio (Jade de MV)

DOMINGO COLL, Jordi (Prestige)

JIMENEZ, Juan Antonio (Piconero IV)

MUÑOZ DIAZ, Juan Manuel (Fuego XII)


KYRKLUND, Kyra (Max)


BOBLET, Marc (Whitni Star)

CHEVANNE, Julia (Calimucho)

ISSARTEL, Remy (Hilton du Clotobie)

PERRING, Hubert (Diabolo St Maurice)

SIAT, Jean Philippe (Tarski van de Zuuthoeve)


BECHTOLSHEIMER, Laura (Andretti H, Mistral Hojris)

BIGWOOD, Fiona (Wie Atlantico)

EILBERG, Maria (Two Sox)

HESTER, Carl (Liebling II)

HINDLE, Emma (Lancet)

CAPELLMANN, Nadine (Elvis VA)

KEMMER, Heike (Bonaparte)

KOPPELMANN, Carola (Insterburg TSF, Le Bo)

LEBEK, Susanne (Potomac)

RATH, Matthias Alexander (Sterntaler-Unicef, Triviant)

SCHMIDT, Hubertus (Donnelly)

SCHULTEN-BAUMER, Ellen (Donatha S)

THEODORESCU, Monica (Whisper)


MERVELDT, Anna (Coryolano)

TRUESDALE, Yvette (Has to be fun)

BORDONE, Susanna (Dark Surprise)


SANGIORGI, Pierluigi (Flourian)


PENELE, Airisa (Ravels)


BAALEN, Marlies van (BMC Kigali, BMC O’Jay DVB)

CORNELISSEN, Adelinde (Parzival)

GAL, Edward (Moorlands Totilas, Sisther de Jeu)

GRUNSVEN, Anky van (IPS Painted Black, Salinero)

HAAZEN, Jeanette (Nartan)

MINDERHOUD, Hans Peter (Exquis Escapado, Exquis Nadine)

PETERS, Stephanie (Jeff)

SCHELLEKENS-BARTELS, Imke (Ferero, Hunter Douglas Sunrise)


RASMUSSEN, Cathrine (Orlando)


MICHALIK, Olga (Harmonia)

MILCZAREK, Katarzyna (Ekwador)

RAPCEWICZ, Michal (Randon)


CAETANO, Maria (Diamant 391)

PINTO, Carlos (Notável JCL Puy du Fou, Poderoso do Retiro)

PINTO, Daniel (Galopin de la Font)

BUSHINA, Larisa (Kompliment)

KORELOVA, Alexandra (Balagur)


KRINKE SUSMELJ, Marcela (Corinth)

PLÄGE, Christian (Regent)

SEIDL, Franziska (Ussaro CH)


ERIKSSON, Maria (Galliano)

ESSEN, Maria von (Vivo)

HOFFMANN, Nina (Leo af Magnushöj)

KARLSSON, Emma (Faradera)

KITTEL, Patrick (Floresco NRW, Scandic)

NATHHORST, Louise (Isidor, Visums)

TELDE, Minna (Don Charly)

VILHELMSON-SILFVEN, Tinne (Favourit, Solos Carex)


KISELIOVA, Svetlana (Parish)

KLIMKO, Olga (Highlight 36)

REJVES, Paulina (Topol)