2009 USA Intercollegiate Dressage Association National Championship

13 years ago StraightArrow Comments Off on 2009 USA Intercollegiate Dressage Association National Championship

FINDLAY, Ohio, Apr. 27–Twenty-two colleges contested the Intercollegiate Dressage Association hosted by University of Findlay at their 32-acre James L. Child Jr. Equestrian Complex,

Riders particited from University of New Hampshire, Mt. Holyoke, University of Massachusetts, Delaware Valley, Lake Erie, Albion, Findlay, Otterbein, Virginia Intermont, North Carolina State, University of Florida, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Washington State, St. Andrews Presbyterian, Cazenovia, Central Florida, University of Kentucky, Averett, Centenary, Johnson & Wales, University of Connecticut and Florida State.

Betsy Steiner, a USDF Bronze, Silver and Gold Medalist and American World Championship team member, drew on a 40-year career as competitor, trainer, judge, instructor and author to give the student riders and their coaches techniques that are part of a sport-specific Pilates-based exercise and body awareness program for the equestrian, which Steiner created.

Teams of four competed in First Level, Upper Training, Lower Training and Introductory competitions on Saturday/

University of New Hampshire‘s Kim Guyer placed fourth in First Level. Upper Training saw UNH’s Kat Williams Barnard earning a combined average score of 66 percent. Lower Training ended with UNH’s Casey Hoatson’s first place score of 71.087 percent. Bridget Shea’s third place in Intro gave the UNH team a combined score of 42 points and their first IDA National Championship.

Three-time IDA national champions, Virginia Intermont was reserve champion after a tie breaker with Delaware Valley.

In addition to the team awards, the IDA team sportsmanship award was presented to University of Findlay, Teresa McDonald of Virginia Tech was named IDA coach of the year and Virginia Intermont coach and IDA vice president Lisa Mosmueller-Terry was recognized for her contributions to the creation and development of the IDA with an induction into the IDA Hall of Fame.

The new Trip Harting Memorial Trophy was presented to First Level winner Greg Schmid. The award was created to honor Harting, a talented rider, instructor and judge, who was an ardent supporter of the IDA and of young people participating in dressage.

The final day of the competition focused on riders competing as individuals with Otterbien’s Greg Schmid taking top honors in First level, and Elizabeth Mirson of Virginia Intermont the reserve. Upper Training was won by Jessica Forend and reserve went to Ashley Parsons of Findlay. Averett’s Laura Thompson was champion of Lower Training and Allison Robbins of Albion reserve. Intro champion was Colleen Grant of Otterbein and reserve went to Bridget Shea of University of New Hampshire.

First place winners received a Henri de Revelle saddle from sponsors JPC Equestrian and the winning team received a $1,000 scholarship from Cunningham & Cunningham Livestock Insurance.