Equestrian Schedule Set for 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Dressage July 25-29

1 year ago admin Comments Off on Equestrian Schedule Set for 2020 Tokyo Olympics, Dressage July 25-29
Tokyo 2020 Olympic Equestrian Park under construction that will host dressage and jumping for all three disciplines.

July 20, 2018

The equestrian schedule for the Olympic Games in Tokyo in 2020 has been set by the International Olympic Committee with dressage to be held July 25-29 for team and individual medals.

The schedule approved by the IOC shows dressage kicking off the equestrian calendar of the three disciplines followed by eventing and jumping at the Equestrian Park in Tokyo.

The complete schedule as published by the IOC:

Dressage
Team & Individual qualifier-Grand Prix–Saturday July 25 17:00-22:00 local time (10:00-15:00 CET/4-9 am US Eastern)
Team & Individual qualifier-Grand Prix–Sunday July 26 17:00-22:00 local time (10:00-15:00 CET/4-9 am US Eastern)
Team Final-Grand Prix Special–Tuesday July 28 17:30-22:20 (10:30-15:20 CET/4:30-9:20 am US Eastern)
Individual Final-Grand Prix Freestyle–Wednesday July 29 17:30-21:20 (10:30-14:20 CET/4:30-8:20 am US Eastern)

Eventing-dressage Friday July 31-Saturday Aug. 1, cross country Sunday Aug. 2, show jumping Monday Aug. 3
Jumping-team Tuesday Aug. 4-Wednesday Aug. 5, individual Friday Aug. 7-Saturday Aug. 8

During the latest inspection tour by the IOC Coordination Commission, chairman John Coates described progress on venues including equestrian as “very impressive.”

Dressage and jumping will be at the Equestrian Park venue with eventing cross-country at Sea Forest.

Equestrian competitions were initially to be held at Dream Island on Tokyo Bay but the IOC approved a request by Tokyo organizers to switch to the Equestrian Park at Baji Koen.

John Coates singled out the cross country venue at Sea Forest for special praise, describing the facility as “spectacular”that, he said, will provide a great legacy for Tokyo as it will become an open park after the Games.